Going to the airport can be such a frustrating experience from the headache of waiting in long lines at the security checkpoint to long layovers to or from your final destination.

But if you plan ahead, the time you spend at the airport doesn’t have to be a miserable experience. With a few distractions, you’ll be surprised at how easily it is to make the most of your time.

Bring An Already Fully-Loaded E-Reader

Before leaving for the airport, make sure you have all the books or articles on your device that you need to fill the time while waiting for your flight. This may seem obvious but I’ve forgotten to download books on my device only to realize that the wifi at the airport is painfully slow or worse, slow and not free! If I’d spent some time at home beforehand, I could be cozying up with a “page-turner” that makes the time go by a lot faster.

Books Aren’t Your Thing? Download a Movie or TV Show

Ok, so maybe you aren’t a big reader, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t plan ahead and download some great entertainment on your phone or table. Download that favorite rom-com or slasher movie that you’ve been meaning to check out or that show you can’t wait to binge watch. And as I mentioned, airport wifi can be so slow, so make sure you download large files beforehand so that you aren’t staring at a buffering screen until your crossed eyed and bored to death.

Coloring Books for Adults 

More and more adults are getting into the coloring book craze as a creative outlet to relax and de-stress. You can find one in just about any bookstore and of any interest such as natural scenes, architecture, or abstract design. Colored pencils or gel pens

Get Your Steps In

Tracking your steps on a regular basis? Don’t let the airport stop you from getting the 10,000 you need to reach your goal. Instead of camping out on an uncomfortable chair at your gate or at an airport restaurant with subpar expensive food and drink, opt to go for walk a few loops around the terminal. It’s healthier than sitting for an hour or two while you wait for your flight and makes the time go by faster than you think!

Take Snacks With You

I like to bring my own snacks whenever I fly because again I hate paying outrageous prices for something I can easily pack. Also, you can bring whatever you like to satisfy any cravings you might have en route to your destination. I like bringing both salty and sweet snacks that pack well like DIY trail mix with almonds, dried fruit, and dark chocolate chips.

Carry A Water Bottle

Whenever I’m flying to my destination, I bring a water bottle with me to fill at the airport. I hate the idea of paying an outrageous price for a bottle of water, plus it keeps me hydrated throughout the flight. Make sure it’s empty though before going through security or you’ll end up either chugging it or having to dump it!

